As we know, yoga has different forms. In fact, there are 6 types of yoga style are performed traditionally.

These are Six Traditional Types of Yoga That You Must Check:

1. Hath

2. Raj

3. Karma

4. Bhakti

5. Gyan 

6. Tantra 

Check out in detail about the above types of Yoga here:

  • Hath Yoga

Hatha yoga is popular in Western countries. In which ha stands for sun and th stands for the moon.

It is based on two principles:

  •  Meditation- Sitting in a meditation position is very simple and easy. Many people find Padmasana particularly helpful for meditation.
  •  Improvement of energy within the body- Yoga improves the flow of energy in the body, doing it improves health.

Hatha Yoga Pradeepika – The book covers all subjects, especially Pranayama, rechak, Purvaka and Kumbhak, Chakra, Kundalini, and many more.

  • Raj Yoga 

Raj Yoga is similar to Hatha Yoga. Maintaining a discipline is almost mandatory in these types of yoga. Raj Yoga focuses on concentration, meditation, and discipline of mind and body.

There are eight parts of Raj Yoga:

1. Discipline  

2. Self-control

3. Concentration

4. Meditation

5. Breath Control

6. Mudra 

7. Sensory inhibition

8. Parmanand 

The aim of Raj Yoga is to control thoughts and calm the mind so that one can finally attain self-awareness.

  • Karma Yoga 

Karma yoga means selfless action. For the sac of humanity, you have to sacrifice yourself in karma yoga.  Karma Yoga has also been described in Bhagwatgeeta. The main purpose of these types of yoga is to purify the mind and heart, to get rid of negative energy and negative thinking. It shows the reason that karma yoga is more spiritual than physical.

  • Bhakti Yoga 

Bhakti yoga is about divine love and faith. The person devotes time to all living beings, including humans, practicing forgiveness and tolerance. This is similar to Karma Yoga.

Bhakti yoga contains 9 principles that are as follows:

1. Shravan

2. Prashansa 

3. Smaran 

4. Pada-Seva

5. Puja

6. Vandana

7. Dasya 

8. Sakha

9. Aatm Nivedana 

  • Gyan Yoga

Gyan yoga releases negative energy from the mind. This yoga is a medium to collect deep knowledge.

Gyan yoga has three main principles:

1. Self-realization

2. Ego Removal

3. Self-exploration 

These principles help the yogi to gain real knowledge or truth about his life.

  • Tantra Yoga

Tantra means “expansion”.  Tantra yoga focuses to explore your mind that you achieve all consciousness. This makes a connection between the person and the soul.

Tantra yoga is for married couples to enhance their sexuality and to have a special type of engagement in their relationship. This can be practiced single. which is called Kundalini Yoga.

It is also about acquiring knowledge and transcending oneself through many rituals.

New and Non-Traditional Yoga

  • Bikram Yoga 

Bikram yoga is not included in the traditional 6 types of yoga asanas, but it is becoming so popular that it deserves mention. Bikram Yoga was composed by Bikram Chaudhary. It is practiced in a special room with a temperature of about 40 degrees. It consisted of 26 postures and two types of breathing exercises.

This yoga style is the best method for detoxifying your body. In which the body has to be massively poisoned through sweat.

  • Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga was founded by B. K. S. Iyengar did his classes in Pune and became one of the most influential gurus of the time. He insisted on doing yoga in a smooth manner, so he also used props in classes such as blocks, belts, bolsters, chairs, and blankets to avoid injuries, stiffness, or imbalance.

  • Kundalini Yoga 

This system of yoga is related to the awakening of mental centers or chakras, which are present in every person. In Kundalini Yoga, higher-level chakras are awakened by activities associated with higher mental centers. Asanas, pranayama, mudras, chanting, and mantras are used to encourage Kundalini energy.

  • Ashtanga Yoga 

In Sanskrit, Ashtanga is translated as “Eight limbs”. Ashtanga yoga was discovered by Pattabhi Jois in the twentieth century when he was translating “Yoga Korunta”, an ancient yoga treatise. These types of yoga styles involves moving vigorously from one asana to another. Ashtanga practice consists of six series, in which the yogi has to move from one pose to another without stopping.

  • Vinyasa yoga

Like hatha yoga, the Vinyasa includes many different styles. Breathing in the Vinyasa and going from one posture to another is reconciled. The meaning of the word Vinyasa is to connect yoga flow and breath together.

If you want to become a yoga teacher and start your own yoga studio then you can join yoga school in Rishikesh, and take your first step towards becoming a certified yoga teacher.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here